## CABINET LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNORS APPOINTMENTS SUB COMMITTEE

### THURSDAY, 5 OCTOBER 2017

PRESENT: Councillors Natasha Airey (Chairman), David Coppinger, Samantha Rayner, MJ Saunders and Christine Bateson

Officers: Shilpa Manek

#### APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

No Apologies for Absence received.

#### **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

All Members declared a personal interest as they knew Simon Dudley as Leader of the RBWM Council and Mr Lars Swann as he was a Conservative Party Candidate.

#### MINUTES

# **RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY:** That the Part I minutes of the meeting held on 27 July 2017 be approved.

APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL AUTHORITY REPRESENTATIVES TO GOVERNING BODIES OF SCHOOLS IN THE ROYAL BOROUGH

The Sub Committee considered the latest list of vacancies and candidates for LA representatives to Governing Bodies of Schools in the Royal Borough, as detailed in section 2.3 of the report.

In relation to All Saints School, there were two candidates. The Sub Committee recommended that the school meet both candidates before making a decision.

In relation to Woodlands Primary School, there were two applicants. The school will be meeting the applicants week commencing 9 October 2017. The Sub Committee were happy with the school appointing the most appropriate candidate and provide positive feedback.

Members noted that Bisham School had now converted to an academy and no longer required a LA Governor.

#### **RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY: That:**

- i) The Sub Committee recommended that All Saints Junior School meet both applicants before making a decision. The Sub Committee would support the school's decision.
- ii) Mr Lars Swann be recommended for appointment to the Hilltop First School.
- iii) Ms Rachel Smillie be recommended for appointment to The Royal School.

- iv) The Sub Committee recommend that the school meet both candidates and provide feedback to the administrator. The Sub Committee would support the school's decision.
- v) Simon Dudley be recommended for re-appointment to Riverside Primary School.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972 - EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

The meeting, which began at 4.45 pm, finished at 5.00 pm

CHAIRMAN.....

DATE.....